RAIDML: Multi-Level Data Protection

What does “No Single Point of Failure” (NSPOF) really mean? If you read it at face value, you may conclude that it is the highest level of data protection.  There are several ways to achieve NSPOF on your volumes: mirroring ( RAID 1); mirroring and striping (RAID 10 or 0+1); complete subsystem mirroring (RAID51 or RAID61); or host based applications that manage mirroring. With these conventional NSPOF methods, you are only doubling the disk count, and essentially doubling the entire subsystems cost.

With StoneFly’s new RAIDML configuration, you can create NSPOF volumes and purely RAID5 or 6 protected volumes, and do it in a single storage unit or across multiple storage units.

Here is a highlight of the benefits:

  • Flexible expansion at RAID and iSCSI volume levels
  • Targeted NSPOF iSCSI volume(s) coexist with standard RAID5 and 6 iSCSI volumes
  • Auto fail-over and fall-back protection
  • No 100% drive count penalty
  • Advanced StoneFusion volume management

To learn more, read the RAIDML tech brief.

Interested in a technology demo? Contact our sales team.

Use our new RAID calculator to help choose the RAID level that’s right for you.

This entry was posted in backup, IP SAN, iSCSI, StoneFly, Storage and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.